Image of V/A - Electric Voice Compilation 2LP

V/A - Electric Voice Compilation 2LP

$3.00 / On Sale

Limited to 500 2-12" vinyl.

V/A EV034-2LP Electric Voice Compilation 2012

Artwork by Adam O'Reilly
Mastered by Evan Cardwell

A1 "Dutch Me" Ariel Pink & R. Stevie Moore
A2 "The Stand" Jeff & Jane Hudson
A3 "Always (Beau Wanzer Adjustment)" Soft Metals
A4 "Panties" HTRK

B1 "A Que Quieres Jugar" Femminielli
B2 "Ikabe" Automelodi
B3 "Transparency Part III" D'eon
B4 "Machine Speak" Innergaze

C1 "Flight 777" Jef Barbara
C2 "Transparent" Passion Party
C3 "She's a Mask of You" Pink Playground
C4 "For Phaedra" Chevalier Avant Garde
C5 "In The Summer" Colours

D1 "Oxy Love" Rape Faction
D2 "Neanderthal Man" Grand Trine
D3 "Multitasker" Catbag
D4 "Coldest Lips" The KVB
D5 "Colored Lights Part II" Horrid Red

"Over the past few years Electric Voice Records has established itself as one of Canada’s most forward-thinking and ambitious new labels, releasing a mountain of innovative pop music from an eccentric roster of international bands and artists. The label’s grand vision is quite simply to archive the current state of affairs in the underground world of pop music. Although a bold mission, this new compilation makes huge strides towards that aim. Culled from a hopelessly jammed inbox of submissions and requests, these 18 tracks represent some of the finest jams to ever grace the Electric Voice catalogue and offer a cross section of both up and coming and established artists. The label’s obsessive attention to quality means that every track is an absolute highlight, but notable contributions include “Dutch Me“, a collaboration between cult bedroom wizards R.Stevie Moore and Ariel Pink, and “The Stand“, a minimal synth track by ’80′s no-wave trailblazers Jeff and Jane Hudson—Electric Voice recently released a 12″ single of new material for Jeff and Jane Hudson. The compilation also includes a chilling track by Australian protopunks HTRK (Hate Rock Trio) which features the band’s late friend and producer Rowland S. Howard of The Birthday Party on guitar. But every cut on this double LP is a winner, with new projects like Femminielli, d’Eon, Rape Faction, Soft Metals, Automelodi, Innergaze, Grand Trine, Jef Barbara, and Catbag commanding as much attention as anything else on the album. And of course, the strange, zen-like art of Adam O’Rielly and mastering work of Evan Cardwell transform this collection of great songs into a coherent piece of art. All in all, the brilliance of this compilation testifies to the unstoppable growth and focus of Electric Voice Records."
(Pigeon Row)